Just another WordPress.com site

GO!

August 23rd 2010, the first day of classes that start off a college career. Looking back, today is so different from the way my freshman year of high school started that I can’t even imagine where I will be in four years. As a freshman in high school, I was clueless, and more afraid than I have ever been in my life. I didn’t have goals for myself, I wanted to do “well” in high school, whatever that means. My freshman year went well, I finished the year with all A’s and two B’s for the year. However, in college, that is not good enough for me. It will be a struggle to make myself study, I have already told myself that. It will be a struggle to understand and keep track of every word that leaves a professors lips when I am in a lecture hall of 600. But I am self aware, I have goals and standards that I will not let myself deviate from. I do not hope to become a Finance major 3 semesters down the road. I am a Finance major, I will finish my freshman year with a GPA above 3.5 and I will be successful in this University. I am no longer the lost freshman from who is afraid to raise his hand or seem geeky and I will throw myself into this world so that I cannot be missed.

I will not let my family down, my mother and father have given me the best childhood that anyone could imagine. I owe them more than the world because the love and support they have shown for me has not only made me the person I am today but has given me the morals and priorities to mold me as an individual throughout my entire life. I am at Penn State not only because they are paying the bill, but because they are all I could ever ask for as parents and gave me the perfect childhood. They taught me not to judge or take things for granted and that what you gain in life can never be taken away from you. Hard work will be rewarded, and FAMILY is always FIRST! I love and miss both of you so so much!

To truly learn is to participate. I am here to work, and I will not let myself down. This is not some sense of self bravado or cockiness, I am simply committed and confident to working hard and taking advantage of every opportunity I get to make myself a better person.

WE ARE PENN STATE,

I am Jarrod Bruno.

3 responses

  1. Peggy

    You are giving us too much credit. We just guided you, you sculpted yourself into the wonderful person you are! Much love and we miss you too, Mom (I now have a soggy Kleenex in hand.)

    August 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

  2. carmine bruno

    You are the best son, and a wonderful person who I know will do well in whatever you choosed to pursue.

    Keep you positive can do attitude, and always look to the people in your life and family for support.

    Love you DAD

    August 23, 2010 at 3:56 pm

  3. Peggy

    You have given us way too much credit. We just guided you, you sculpted yourself into the wonderful person you are! Miss you tons and love you. Mom

    August 23, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Leave a Reply

